Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Jairaj goes, Subramanya is BBMP commissioner

Jairaj goes, Subramanya is BBMP commissioner

Bangalore: In a major overhaul of the bureaucracy, the state government on Monday night transferred 81 officials including Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) commissioner K Jairaj.
The new BBMP commissioner is 1983-batch IAS officer S Subramanya, the brain behind deputy CM B S Yediyurappa’s budget. Jairaj, who took over as commissioner in May 2006, has been posted as principal secretary, rural development and panchayat raj department.
In another major move, the government has filled the post of principal secretary (finance) that was lying vacant. Senior IAS officer MR Sreenivasa Murthy will hold the post. Commissioner for public instruction M Madan Gopal has been replaced with G Kumar Naik, who was tourism commissioner.
BWSSB’s new chairman is Latha Krishna Rau. BBMP joint commissioner T A Parthasarathy has been posted as deputy secretary (municipal reforms) and given additional charge of the new post of director, Urban Transport Cell (urban development department).
While the total number of IAS officers transferred is 35, that of IFS is 7, IPS 3 and KAS 36. Subramanya is the fifth commissioner of Bangalore’s municipal corporation since 2002. The previous commissioners, besides Jairaj, were Ashok Dalwai, MR Sreenivasa Murthy and K Jothiramalingam.
The BWSSB, too, has got its fifth chairman in five years. MN Vidyashankar, SK Pattanayak, Ashok Kumar Manoli and NC Muniyappa were the previous chairmen


Post a Comment

<< Home