Tuesday, June 30, 2009

BBMP to kickstart new EPIC drive tomorrow

BBMP to kickstart new EPIC drive tomorrow
Bangalore, DH News Service:

The BBMP will launch the Election Photo Identity Card (EPIC) drive afresh from July 1, with an aim to cover 90 per cent of the eligible voters in the city.

The drive will be held for 100 days in 21 Assembly constituencies in the City.

Joint Commissioner (Administration) Srirama Reddy told mediapersons, here on Monday, that the drive will be launched at KR Puram, Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Mahalakshmi Layout, Malleswaram, Hebbal, Pulakeshinagar, Sarvagna Nagar, C V Raman Nagar, Shivajinagar, Shanthi Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Rajajinagar, Govindaraj Nagar, Vijayanagar, Chamarajpet, Chickpet, Basavanagudi, Padmanabhanagar, BTM Layout, Jayanagar and Bommanahalli.

Voter facilitation centres will help voters get EPIC and will function from 8.30 am to 12.30 pm. After a two-hour lunch break they will resume work from 2.30 pm and conclude the day’s work at 7 pm.

People should use Form 6 for registration of new voters, Form 7 for cancellation, Form 8 for correction and Form 8A in case of change the names of voters from one part of the constituency to another within the Assembly segment, the officer added.

He said the Election Commission of India wants 95 per cent of EPIC coverage but due to certain practical problems the Palike had fixed a target of 85 to 90 per cent. The drive will be held from July 1 to October 10.

Reddy said the entire city was divided into three districts namely North, South and Central election districts, with each district covering seven Assembly segments. The Palike also proposed to provide mobile Designated Photo Location (DPL) centres. In this regard the Palike is sending notices to people to enroll themselves and get EPIC.


Post a Comment

<< Home