Friday, May 30, 2008

Traffic curbs for swearing-in ceremony

Traffic curbs for swearing-in ceremony

Staff Reporter

BANGALORE: In view of the swearing-in ceremony of B.S. Yeddyurappa and his Cabinet colleagues on Friday afternoon, the city police have banned movement of vehicles on Ambedkar Veedhi between K.R. Circle and Police Thimmaiah Junction from 12.30 p.m. to 2.30 p.m.

Vehicles from Seshadri Road can enter Cubbon Park and Nrupathunga Road, whereas vehicles from Queen’s Road and Cubbon Road can proceed ahead on Raj Bhavan Road and Ambedkar Veedhi towards Coffee Board Junction.

BMTC buses from Seshadri Road and Mysore Bank proceeding towards Shivajinagar have to take Palace Road at Maharani’s College Junction and proceed towards AG’s Office Junction, Basaveshwara Junction and LRDE Junction.

While vehicles carrying VVIPs, including the Governor and the Chief Minister-designate, VIPs and vehicles with car passes can enter the Vidhana Soudha premises through the West Gate, other vehicles have to be parked at the Vikasa Soudha parking lot. Similarly, cars and two-wheelers of invitees without vehicle pass have to be parked at the Vikasa Soudha parking lot.

General public intending to witness the swearing-in ceremony have to park their vehicles inside Cubbon Park, in front of the NGO Club, on the road leading to Siddalingaiah Circle inside Cubbon Park and KGID Cross.

Movement of vehicles through Cubbon Park towards Vidhana Soudha from Hudson Circle, Queen’s Circle, Siddalingaiah Circle and CTO Junction has been banned.

As a large number of people from outside Bangalore are likely to arrive here to witness the ceremony, the police have given specific routes and parking space for their vehicles.

Vehicles from the Tumkur Road side should be parked at Amanulla Khan Ground after proceeding to the city via Peenya, Yeshwantpur Circle, BHEL Circle, C.V. Raman Avenue, Mekhri Circle, Jayamahal Road and Amanulla Khan Gate. Vehicles from the Bellary Road side too should be parked at the same venue.

Vehicles from Kolar should proceed via Trinity Circle, Begum Mahal, Gangadhara Chetty Road, Dickenson Road, Dobhi Ghat, Dickenson Road, Kamaraja Road-Dickenson Road Junction, Cubbon Road and CTO Junction from where people have walk to the venue.

The city police have made elaborate security arrangements for the ceremony.


Post a Comment

<< Home