Thursday, August 31, 2006

Option 1 could win the race

Option 1 could win the race
The Times of India

Bangalore: One year of exercise, six options in hand, three short-listed, and one will stake claim as Greater Bangalore.

The delimitation exercise was carried out largely taking into consideration the projected increase in population — by 2015, Bangalore’s population would be 88 lakhs and by 2020 it would grow to one crore.
The process was set in motion in July 2005 for Bangalore: talks of redefining the constituencies following increase in the population, reshuffling of pockets having unequal population, geographical features, better connectivity, means of communication, public convenience, areas divided by rivers, hilly ranges, forests and ravines.

While the short-listed options dwell on the merger of urban local bodies around Bangalore into BMP and formation of zonal corporations, the remaining alternatives spoke of combination of villages as per their level of development.

Over to the six options.

(This has been on the government’s mind): 696 sq km.
Includes BMP limits extending up to 226 sq km and merging seven CMCs and one TMC spreading over more than 291 sq km, and 103 villages with more than 30% development spread over 178 sq km.
527.97 sq km. Merger of BMP and seven CMCs and one TMC.
(under government’s consideration) 597.18 sq km. First is the BMP; then 257 sq km of urban local bodies and next the 33 villages with 70% development spreading over 79.21 sq km.
BMP and two zones - East and West - bifurcated by Bannerghatta Road in the South and the Bellary Road in the North. The East zone has developed areas having IT-related activities, part of Byatarayanapura, KR Puram, Mahadevapura, parts of Bommanahalli and Yelahanka CMCs and 26 villages with more than 30% development-230 sq km.
West zone comprising TG Halli catchment area where developments are less due to restrictions on development - 240.17 sq km including RR Nagar, Dasarahalli, part of Bommanahalli, part of Yelahanka, part of Byatarayanapura CMCs and Kengeri TMC along with 59 villages more than 30% development.
(under consideration)
Apart from BMP, two zones have been proposed - North zone with 187 sq km and South zone with 283 sq km bifurcated by Magadi Road in the West and Varthur Road in the East.
In North zone, revenue collection is high due to dense developments and has Dasarahalli, Byatarayanapura, Yelahanka, parts of KR Puram and Mahadevapura CMCs along with 45 villages which have more than 30% developments.
In the South zone, revenue collection is low since developments are restricted in certain pockets. It has RR Nagar, Bommanahalli, parts of Mahadevapura and KR Puram CMCs and Kengeri TMC along with 64 villages with more than 30% development.
Apart from the BMP, two zones to be formed: Zone I will have three CMCs, Bommanahalli, Mahadevapura and KR Puram and 38 villages with more than 30% development; Zone II comprises four CMCs - RR Nagar, Dasarahalli, Yelahanka, Byatarayanapura — and Kengeri TMC along with 68 villages.
The government, which has formed a committee headed by principal secretary to CM Sudhakar Rao to zero-in on one proposal for Greater Bangalore, is likely to issue a notification in this regard in a day or two.
According to sources, the government is serious about the first option where BMP limits will be expanded to 696 sq km by merging urban local bodies and 193 villages.


Post a Comment

<< Home